Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Radionuclide speciation

Department head: Dr. Jörg Rothe
     +49 721 6082 4390


 Experimental setup for spatially resolved micro-focus X-ray fluorescence spectroscopy measurements at the INE-Beamline at ANKA.  
Setup for time-resolved laser fluorescence measurements in the INE controlled area laboratories.  

Maintaining a state-of-the-art portfolio of advanced surface science and spectroscopy methods at INE is an important R&D activity, as these methods are crucial tools for advancing our understanding of actinide and radionuclide (geo)chemistry or the behavior of nuclear waste forms during prolonged interim storage. Radionuclide speciation methods available at INE controlled area laboratories and the KIT synchrotron radiation facility ANKA are continuously adapted to serve the requirements of the INE in house R&D program. Access to this unique instrumentation is as well provided to INE’s national and international partners in the frame of cooperation agreements or joint research projects. The “Radionuclide Speciation” department at INE comprises five research groups: The X-ray spectroscopy group and the Helmholtz young investigator group headed by Tonya Vitova are responsible for the operation of INE’s synchrotron radiation beamlines at ANKA (INE-Beamline and ACT station at the new CAT-ACT beamline). The surface analysis and microscopy group provides optical and electron microscopy and various surface sensitive spectroscopy tools, including XPS and Raman spectroscopy. The NMR spectroscopy group operates one of the few NMR spectrometers available in the world which are licensed for the investigation of radioactive liquid samples. The laser spectroscopy group develops and adapts laser based methods, e.g., for highly sensitive speciation of actinides by time resolved optical fluorescence spectroscopy or detection of aquatic radionuclide colloids by laser induced breakdown detection.