Aquatic Chemistry and Thermodynamics of Actinides and long-lived Fission Products

The research of our group is dedicated to the investigation of the chemical behaviour of radionuclides in aqueous systems of relevance in the context of nuclear waste disposal. Main focus is on solubility phenomena of long-lived actinides and fission products like Pu, Np, U and Tc, i.e. on the equilibrium reactions between solubility-limiting radionuclide solid phases and the aqueous radionuclide species, including complexation with relevant ligands and redox reactions. The approach considered to tackle these complex systems strongly relies on classical solution chemistry methods (e.g., solubility experiments, absorption spectroscopy), in combination with solid phase characterization methods and advanced spectroscopic techniques such as time-resolved laser fluorescence spectroscopy (TRLFS) or X-ray absorption spectroscopy (XAFS). Our experimental studies are systematically performed as function of various solution parameters, in order to cover the geochemical boundary conditions expected for the different deep geological repository concepts. A specific research line is dedicated to the impact of elevated temperature conditions on the solution chemistry of radionuclides which may result from the decay of heat-generating nuclear waste in a repository. Our studies provide an adequate process understanding and thermodynamic description of the investigated radionuclide systems, including the evaluation of activity models (SIT, Pitzer). The corresponding data are the basis for thermodynamic databases and geochemical calculations, which play a key role in the long-term safety assessment of nuclear waste repositories.

Our research group also contributes to several national projects with focus on the interdisciplinary analyses of disposal options for radioactive waste in Germany (ENTRIA, funded by BMBF), providing support and expert judgement to BfS in the context of the Asse II salt mine, or participating in the development of the national thermodynamic reference database for actinides and fission products (THEREDA project). The expertise of our group in this field is further reflected in key contributions to highly relevant international projects, such as the OECD NEA–TDB thermodynamic series, the IUPAC Subcommittee on Solubility and Equilibrium Data, or the update of the Plutonium Handbook edited by the American Nuclear Society, among others. Our group has also on-going, long-lasting collaborations with research groups and waste management organizations world-wide.

 

Our group (as of 2017), from left to right: (top row) Alexander Baumann, Julian Schepperle, Nese Cevirim, Ezgi Yalcintas, Xavier Gaona, Melanie Böttle; (bottom row) Agost Tasi, Timo Schramm, Nicole Adam, Francesco Endrizzi, David Fellhauer. Jun-Yeop Lee is missing

 

Contact:

Dr. Xavier Gaona     

    +49 721 608 26134

Aquatische Chemie 2
General view of the lab facilities and gloveboxes where the main research activities of the group are performed.
Aquatische Chemie 3
David Fellhauer and Julian Schepperle working at the neptunium glovebox.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Aquatische Chemie und Thermodynamik von Actiniden und langlebigen Spaltprodukten

Aquatische Chemie 2
Blick ins Alpha-Labor im Kontrollbereich des KIT-INE, wo ein Großteil der experimentellen Studien unserer Gruppe durchgeführt werden
Aquatische Chemie 3
David Fellhauer und Julian Schepperle bei Arbeiten an der Neptunium-Handschuhbox

Die Forschungstätigkeit unserer Gruppe erstreckt sich auf die Untersuchung des chemischen Verhaltens von Radionukliden in wässrigen Systemen, wie sie im Kontext der nuklearen Entsorgung von nuklearem Abfall relevant sind. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf Löslichkeitseigenschaften langlebiger Aktiniden und Spaltprodukte wie die des Pu, Np, U und Tc, d.h. auf Gleichgewichtsreaktionen zwischen löslichkeitskontrollierenden Radionuklid-Festphasen und wässriger Radionuklidspezies, sowie der Komplexierung mit relevanten Liganden und Redoxreaktionen. Der Ansatz, diese komplexen Systeme anzugehen, beruht vorwiegend auf klassischen Methoden der Lösungschemie (z.B. Löslichkeitsexperimenten, Absorptionsspektroskopie) und Festphasencharakterisierung und beinhaltet weiterhin neuste spektroskopische Techniken wie zeitaufgelöste LASER Fluoreszenzspektroskopie (TRLFS) und Röntgenabsorptionsspektroskopie (XAFS). Unsere experimentellen Studien werden systematisch als Funktion verschiedener Lösungsparameter durchgeführt, mit dem Ziel, die zu erwartenden geochemischen Randbedingungen verschiedener Konzepte geologischer Tiefenlager abzudecken. Ein spezieller Forschungszweig befasst sich mit dem Einfluss erhöhter Temperaturen auf die Lösungschemie von Radionukliden, die sich aus dem Zerfall von wärmeentwickelndem nuklearem Abfall in einem Endlager einstellen können. Unsere Studien liefern ein adäquates Prozessverständnis und eine thermodynamische Beschreibung der untersuchten Radionuklidsysteme, und beinhalten auch die Ableitung von Aktivitätsmodellen (SIT, Pitzer). Die entsprechenden Daten stellen die Grundlage für thermodynamische Datenbanken sowie geochemische Berechnungen dar, welche eine Schlüsselrolle bei Langzeitsicherheitsnachweisen für nukleare Endlager spielen.

Unsere Forschungsgruppe trägt weiterhin zu mehreren nationalen Projekten mit folgenden Schwerpunkten bei: interdisziplinäre Analysen von Entsorgungsoptionen für radioaktive Reststoffe in Deutschland (ENTRIA, BMBF-gefördert), Gutachtertätigkeiten für BfS im Kontext der Schachtanlage Asse II, Teilnahme bei der Entwicklung der nationalen thermodynamischen Referenzdatenbank für Actiniden und Spaltprodukte (THEREDA-Projekt). Unsere wissenschaftliche Expertise in diesem Forschungsbereich spiegelt sich auch in wesentlichen Beiträgen zu hochrelevanten internationalen Projekten wider, u.a. dem Datenbankprojekt der OECD NEA-TDB, dem Subcommitte on Solubility and Equilibrium Data der IUPAC, oder dem Plutonium Handbook der American Chemical Society. Langjährige Kooperationen mit nationalen und internationalen Forschungsgruppen und Waste Management Organisationen hat in unserer Gruppe ebenso eine lange Tradition.

 

Unsere Gruppe (2017), von links nach rechts: (oben) Alexander Baumann, Julian Schepperle, Nese Cevirim, Ezgi Yalcintas, Xavier Gaona, Melanie Böttle; (unten) Agost Tasi, Timo Schramm, Nicole Adam, Francesco Endrizzi, David Fellhauer. Es fehlt: Jun-Yeop Lee

 

Ansprechpartner:

Xavier Gaona     

   +49 721 608 26134