Surface Analysis and Microscopy

Chemical interaction of a solid material with its environment takes place at its surface, which mostly results in the formation of an interface phase or a layer with a chemical composition differing from that of the bulk. The thickness of such layers may range from monolayers to some nanometers. Knowledge of surface layer properties is essential for understanding of chemical processes occurring at the surface and relevant for the safety case study of a nuclear waste repository. X-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) gives insight into elemental composition, valence, and chemical bonding states of the outermost atomic layers of a sample. Examples are the interaction of dissolved radionuclides with surfaces of corrosion products, colloids of the groundwater, and mineral phases by redox reactions, sorption or incorporation.

Analyses of solid surfaces at high lateral resolution is performed by environmental scanning electron microscopy (ESEM). In SEM, a fine electron probe is focused on the surface of a sample and scanned in a two-dimensional raster. At each point, various emitted signals can be detected and contribute to a corresponding point in an image. So-called secondary electrons (SE) enable the observation of surface topography with a lateral resolution down to few nanometers, whereas images produced by detection of elastically backscattered electrons (BSE) present a material contrast. Furthermore, the detection of characteristic X-rays allows determination of atomic concentrations at a micrometer scale (energy-dispersive x-ray spectroscopy, EDX).

Mineral phases and actinide compounds are also analyzed by Raman spectromicroscopy (Bruker Senterrra). Solids can be analyzed in-situ in aqueous solutions.

Atomic force microscopy (AFM) is used to map surface structures and chemical reactions at mineral-water interfaces like e.g. mineral dissolution or -precipitation in-situ with high spatial resolution (< 100 pm vertical and ca. 10 nm lateral).

 

Contact:

Dr. Dieter Schild      Dr. Frank Heberling (AFM)     
   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379    +49 721 608 24782

 

Abt4_Gr4_bild1.jpg
X-ray Photoelectron Spectrometer (XPS: ULVAC-PHI VersaProbe II)
Abt4_Gr4_bild2.jpg
Environmental Scanning Electron Microscope (ESEM: FEI QUANTA 650 FEG)
Abt4_Gr4_bild3.jpg
Atomic Force Microscope (AFM: Veeco Dimension 3100)

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Oberflächenanalytik und Mikroskopie

Abt4_Gr4_bild1.jpg
Röntgen-Photoelektronen Spektrometer (XPS: ULVAC-PHI VersaProbe II)
Abt4_Gr4_bild2.jpg
Umwelt-Rasterelektronenmikroskop (ESEM: FEI QUANTA 650 FEG)
Abt4_Gr4_bild3.jpg
Rasterkraftmikroskop (AFM: Veeco Dimension 3100)

Chemische Reaktionen eines Festkörpers mit der Umgebung finden an seiner Oberfläche statt, die sich deshalb in ihrer chemischen Zusammensetzung von derjenigen im Festkörperinneren unterscheidet. Die Dicke dieser Oberflächenschicht bewegt sich im Bereich atomarer Abstände bis zu einigen Nanometern. Die Kenntnis der Eigenschaften der Oberflächenschicht ist für das Verständnis der dort ablaufenden chemischen Prozesse wesentlich und für die Endlagersicherheitsforschung relevant. Hier liefert die oberflächenempfindliche Röntgen-Photoelektronenspektroskopie (XPS) Information über die elementare Zusammensetzung, Valenz der Elemente und chemische Bindungszustände. Beispiele sind die Wechselwirkung gelöster Radionuklide mit Oberflächen von Korrosionsprodukten, Grundwasserkolloide und Mineralphasen durch Redoxreaktionen, Sorption oder Einbau.

Für die Untersuchung der Festkörperoberflächen mit hoher Ortsauflösung auf der Mikro- und Nanometerskala wird ein Umwelt- Rasterelektronenmikroskop (ESEM) angewendet. Mit einem fokussierten Elektronenstrahl wird die Probenoberfläche abgerastert. An jedem Punkt entstehen unterschiedliche Signale die detektiert jeweils zu einem Bild mit entsprechendem Informationsgehalt beitragen. Die Sekundärelektronen (SE) ermöglichen die Darstellung der Oberflächentopographie mit einer lateralen Auflösung von einigen Nanometern, während die Rückstreuelektronen (RE) ein Materialkontrastbild liefern. Die Detektion der entstehenden charakteristischen Röntgenstrahlung ermöglicht die Bestimmung der Atomkonzentrationen auf Probenoberflächen im Mikrometermaßstab (energiedispersive Röntgenspektroskopie, EDX).

Zur Untersuchung von Mineralphasen und Aktinidverbindungen wird ebenfalls Raman Spektromikroskopie angewendet (Bruker Senterra). Festphasen in wässrigen Lösungen lassen sich mit dieser Methode direkt untersuchen.

Die Raster-Kraft-Mikroskopie (AFM) dient der Abbildung von Oberflächenstrukturen und Oberflächenveränderungen durch chemische Reaktionen z.B. Kristallwachstum und -auflösung mit hoher Ortsauflösung (< 100 pm vertikal und ca. 10 nm lateral).

 

Ansprechpartner:

Dieter Schild      Frank Heberling (AFM)     
   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379    +49 721 608 24782