Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Disposal systems / components

Department head: Dr. Volker Metz
     +49 721 608 28078

 

Experiments on corrosion of spent nuclear fuel in the shielded box-line of KIT-INE  
numerical simulations of the photon- and neutron-radiation ambient dose distribution in the near field of a disposal cask loaded with spent nuclear fuel  

Our research for nuclear waste disposal deals with various safety issues relevant in the pre-disposal phase, during waste emplacement and in the post-closure phase of a deep-geological repository. Research activities focus on long-term safety of multi-barrier systems for disposal of nuclear waste.

Applied and fundamental studies are performed on subsystems (i.e. waste matrices, container materials, geo-engineered and geological barriers) of various repository concepts in argillaceous, crystalline and saline host rocks. These activities comprise a wide span of experimental and theoretical investigations concerning the behavior of low to high level waste forms under repository conditions, radionuclide release from these waste forms, development of geochemical milieu in the near-field of a repository, alteration of container materials and geo-engineered barriers, radionuclide retention by near-field components of the repository and the adjacent geological barrier.

Studies are performed to assess the stability of cemented (low / medium level) waste forms as well as highly active waste components such as spent nuclear fuel, HLW glass, activated steel and fuel rod claddings. The latter is of relevance both to final disposal and to prolonged interim storage of irradiated nuclear fuel elements.

Furthermore, experiments with radiation sources and numerical simulation techniques are applied for assessing radiation fields in the vicinity of containers with high level wastes, the respective ambient dose and shielding requirements, as well as the individual dosimetry of personnel during storage in surface facilities and emplacement of the waste forms in deep geological repositories.

Scientific achievements of our investigations are applied to safety analyses, safety and disposal concept developments of current and future disposal projects as well as contributions to public information with respect to comparison of repository concepts in various host rocks.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Endlagersysteme /-komponenten

Abteilungsleiter: Dr. Volker Metz     
    +49  721 608 28078

 

Experimente zur Korrosion von abgebranntem Kernbrennstoff in der abgeschirmten Boxenlinie des KIT-INE  
Numerische Simulationen zur Verteilung der Photonen- und Neutronenortsdosis im Nahfeld eines Endlagerbehälters mit abgebranntem Kernbrennstoff  

Unsere Forschung zur Endlagerung nuklearer Abfälle behandelt verschiedene Themenkomplexe zur Sicherheit in der Betriebs- und Nachbetriebsphase eines Lagersystems in tiefen geologischen Formationen sowie während der Zwischenlagerung der Abfälle. Die Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die Langzeitsicherheit von Mehrbarriensystemen der Tiefenlager.

Angewandte und grundlegende Untersuchungen werden zu Subsystemen (Abfallmatrizes, Behältermaterialien, geotechnische und geologische Barrieren) verschiedener Lagerkonzepte in Ton-, Kristallin- und Steinsalz-Wirtsgesteinen durchgeführt. Die Arbeiten umfassen eine breite Spanne experimenteller und theoretischer Studien zum Verhalten schwach- bis hoch-radioaktiver Abfallprodukte unter den Bedingungen eines Tiefenlagers, Radionuklidfreisetzung aus solchen Abfallprodukten, Entwicklung des geochemischen Milieus im Nahfeld eines Tiefenlagers, Alteration von Behältermaterialien und geotechnischer Barrieren, Radionuklidrückhaltung durch Komponenten im Nahfeld eines Tiefenlagers und des angrenzenden Wirtsgesteins.

Wir untersuchen die Stabilität zementierter (schwach- / mittel-radioaktiver) Abfallprodukte und hoch-radioaktiver Abfallbestandteile wie abgebrannter Kernbrennstoff, HAW Glas, aktivierter Stahl und aktivierte Brennstabhüllrohre. Letztere Untersuchungen sind sowohl für die Endlagerung als auch für eine verlängerte Zwischenlagerung bestrahlter Brennelemente von Bedeutung.

Darüber hinaus werden Experimente mit Strahlenquellen und numerische Simulationen durchgeführt zur Bewertung der Photonen- und Neutronenortsdosis in der Umgebung von Behältern mit hoch-radioaktiven Abfällen und zur Bestimmung der individuellen Dosimetrie des Betriebspersonals während der Lagerung in Oberflächeneinrichtungen und während der Einlagerung der Abfallprodukte in Tiefenlagern.

Die wissenschaftlichen Ergebnisse unserer Forschungsarbeiten werden für Sicherheitsanalysen, Entwicklung von Sicherheitskonzepten und Auslegung von Tiefenlagern laufender und zukünftiger Endlagerprojekte angewandt. Zu dem dienen sie zur Information der Öffentlichkeit für einen Vergleich von Endlagerkonzepten in verschiedenen Wirtsgesteinen.