Institute for Nuclear Waste Disposal

Information for students

In addition to the scientific focus, INE takes up the challenge of maintaining and further developing know-how and competences in radiochemistry. This is done by lectures and practical courses at KIT and the University of Heidelberg as well as by lectures at the Universities of Jena, Strasbourg, and Darmstadt and within the framework of doctoral and student research projects.

Prof. Dr. Horst Geckeis, head of INE, holds a professorship for radiochemistry at the KIT Department of Chemistry and Biosciences. A radiochemistry module has been set up for master students, consisting of basic and advanced lectures on radiochemistry as well as laboratory courses. The focus of the lectures "Radiochemistry I" and "Radiochemistry II" is on basic and applied radiochemistry. This basic lecture is complemented by the lecture "Chemistry of f-Elements" and the lecture "Instrumental Analytics".

In addition to the lectures, students in the radiochemistry module as well as students of the University of Heidelberg are offered a three-week block internship in the "Fortbildungszentrum für Technik und Umwelt" (Research Center for Technology and Environment, FTU) and in the control area of the INE.

Further lectures take place at the Department of Civil Engineering, Geo and Environmental Sciences and at the Department of Mechanical Engineering.

Institut für Nukleare Entsorgung (INE)

Studium und Lehre

Neben den wissenschaftlichen Schwerpunkten stellt sich das INE der Herausforderung, Know-how und Kompetenzen in der Radiochemie zu erhalten und weiter zu entwickeln. Dies erfolgt durch Vorlesungen und Praktika am KIT und der Universität Heidelberg sowie durch Lehrveranstaltungen an den Universitäten Jena, Straßburg und Darmstadt sowie im Rahmen von Doktor- und Studienarbeiten.

Prof. Dr. Horst Geckeis, Leiter des INE, hat eine Professur für Radiochemie an der KIT-Fakultät für Chemie und Biowissenschaften, inne. Für Masterstudenten wurde ein Radiochemie-Modul eingerichtet, das aus Grundlagen- und weiterführenden Vorlesungen zur Radiochemie sowie Laborkursen besteht. Der Fokus der Vorlesung "Radiochemie I" und "Radiochemie II" liegt auf der grundlegenden und angewandten Radiochemie. Ergänzt wird diese Grundlagenvorlesung durch die Vorlesung zur "Chemie der f-Elemente" sowie durch die Vorlesung "Instrumental Analytics".

Ergänzend zu den Vorlesungen wird für die Studenten im Radiochemie-Modul sowie für die Studenten der Universität Heidelberg eine dreiwöchiges Blockpraktikum im Forschungszentrum Technik und Umwelt sowie im Kontrollbereich des INE angeboten.

Weitere Vorlesungen finden an der Fakultät für Bauingenieur-, Geo- und Umweltwissenschaften sowie an der Fakultät für Maschinenbau statt.