Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | KIT

Surface analysis by x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS)

XPS
Fig. 1: X-ray photoelectron spectrometer (XPS) at INE (ULVAC-PHI, model VersaProbe II)

The surface sensitivity of XPS applied to radioactive materials gives insight into chemical composition of surfaces and interfaces relevant for the safety case study of a nuclear waste repository. Examples are the interaction of dissolved radionuclides with surfaces of corrosion products, colloids of the groundwater, and mineral phases by sorption or incorporation.

Chemical interaction of a solid material with its environment takes place at its surface, which mostly results in the formation of an interface phase or a layer with a chemical composition differing from that of the bulk. The thickness of such layers may range from monolayers to some nanometers. Knowledge of surface layer properties is essential for understanding of chemical processes occurring at the surface. To identify elements, their valence, and chemical bonding states in the outermost atomic layers of a sample, surface-sensitive x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) is applied.

During XPS, the surface of a sample is irradiated by soft x-rays and the photoelectrons leaving the sample are analyzed. The energy of the emitted photoelectrons is essentially given by the difference between x-ray energy and the binding energy of the electrons at their initial atomic energy levels, thus characteristic for each element. By use of the measured photoelectron energies and intensities, the elements and their abundances are identified.

Chemical bonds cause a small shift of the energy of atomic electron levels, measured by high energy resolution XPS as "chemical shift" of the photoelectron energy. Comparison with data from well-known compounds allows drawing conclusion about chemical bonding states at the sample surface. 

 

Contact:

Dieter Schild     

   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379


Scanning electron microscopy (SEM)

Section_4_6_fig1.jpg
Fig. 1: FEI QUANTA 650 FEG environmental scanning electron microscope (ESEM) with field emission electron gun allowing a 1 nm resolution at 30 kV (SE)

Electron microscopy applied to radioactive materials gives insight into microscopic/ nanoscopic structures relevant for safety assessment of a nuclear repository.

SEM analyses are performed at INE using a FEI QUANTA 650 FEG environmental scanning electron microscope located in the radioactive control area (Fig. 1). In SEM, a fine electron probe is focussed on the surface of a sample and scanned in a two-dimensional raster. At each point, various emitted signals can be detected and contribute to a corresponding point in an image. So-called secondary electrons (SE) enable the observation of surface topography with a lateral resolution down to few nanometers, whereas images produced by means of elastically backscattered electrons (BSE) present an elemental contrast. Furthermore, the detection of characteristic x-rays allows quantitative determination of atomic concentrations at a micrometer scale (energy-dispersive x-ray spectroscopy, EDX).

 

 

Contact:

Dieter Schild     

   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379


Surface analysis by atomic force microscopy (AFM)

Calcit growth AFM
Fig. 1: Growth hillock at the calcite (104) surface observed by contact AFM in situ during crystal growth.

A prerequisite of a detailed understanding of chemical reactions at surfaces are high-resolution microscopic techniques. The atomic force microscope (AFM) gives quantitative insight into surface properties and topography. Advantages of this technique are that no special sample preparation is necessary and measurements with high lateral resolution can be performed at ambient pressure and in solutions.

Surface processes like e.g. crystal growth or dissolution of minerals, can be observed directly in solution in realtime. The incorporation of radionuclides into minerals can be observed and analysed by changes of the crystal growth.

During atomic force microscopy, the surface of the sample is scanned by a nanoscopic sized tip with radius of 2 nm. Spatial resolution in z-direction is about 0.1 nm, and in x,y directions given by the tip radius.

The tip is bonded to a relatively long and elastic bar (ca. 0.1 mm ) with well-known spring constant. The position of the tip is measured by a reflecting laser beam and a segmented photodiode. The bar with the tip is attached to a piezoelectric quartz and moved by electric potentials.

Sensing of the sample surface is performed by essentially two techniques. Either the tip is scanned in permanent contact with the sample surface or the tip oscillates perpendicular to the surface while scanning. If the tip approaches to the surface, attenuation and phase shift of the tip in relation to the exciting piezoelectric quartz occurs, which is detected by the laser and the segmented photodiode. Advantage of the latter technique is that it has less impact onto the sample surface, which is favourable especially in the case of sensitive samples.

 

Contact:

Dieter Schild      Frank Heberling (AFM)     
   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379    +49 721 608 24782

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | KIT

Oberflächenanalytik mit Photoelektronenspektroskopie (XPS)

XPS
Abb. 1: Röntgen-Photoelektronen Spektrometer (XPS) am INE (ULVAC-PHI, Modell VersaProbe II)

Bei der XPS wird die Festkörperoberfläche einer Probe mit weichem Röntgenlicht bestrahlt und Photoelektronen erzeugt. Die Energie der Photoelektronen wird gemessen und entspricht im Wesentlichen der Differenz zwischen Röntgenenergie und Bindungsenergie der Elektronen in den atomaren Elektronenniveaus aus denen sie stammen, charakteristisch für jedes Element. Anhand der gemessenen Energien und Intensitäten der Photoelektronen lassen sich die Elemente und ihre relative Häufigkeiten bestimmen.

Chemische Bindungen bewirken eine kleine Änderung der Energie der Elektronenniveaus, die als "chemische Verschiebung" der Photoelektronenenergie mit hochaufgelöster XPS gemessen werden kann. Aus dem Vergleich mit bekannten chemischen Verbindungen können Rückschlüsse auf die chemischen Bindungszustände auf der Probenoberfläche gezogen werden

 

Ansprechpartner:

Dieter Schild     

   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379


Raster-Elektronenmikroskopie (REM)

Section_4_6_fig1.jpg
Abb. 1: FEI QUANTA 650 FEG Umwelt-Rasterelektronenmikroskop mit Feldemissionsquelle. Ortsauflösung bis zu 1 nm bei 30 kV Elektronenstrahlenergie (SE)

Für die Sicherheitsanalyse eines nuklearen Endlagers ist das Verständnis des Verhaltens radioaktiver Materialien auf der Mikro- und Nanometerskala erforderlich. Hier kann die Elektronenmikroskopie wichtige Beiträge liefern.

REM-Untersuchungen werden am INE im radioaktiven Kontrollbereich mit einem FEI QUANTA 650 FEG Umwelt-Rasterelektronenmikroskop durchgeführt (Abb. 1). Mit einem fokussierten Elektronenstrahl wird die Probenoberfläche abgerastert. An jedem Punkt entstehen unterschiedliche Signale die detektiert jeweils zu einem Bild mit entsprechendem Informationsgehalt beitragen. Die Sekundärelektronen (SE) ermöglichen die Darstellung der Oberflächentopographie mit einer lateralen Auflösung von einigen Nanometern, während die Rückstreuelektronen (RE) ein elementares Kontrastbild liefern. Detektion der entstehenden charakteristischen Röntgenstrahlung ermöglicht die quantitative Bestimmung von Atomkonzentrationen von Proben im Mikrometermaßstab (energiedispersive Röntgenspektroskopie, EDX).

 

 

Ansprechpartner:

Dieter Schild     

   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379


Oberflächenanalytik mit Raster-Kraftmikroskopie (Atomic Force Microscopy - AFM)

Calcit growth AFM
Abb. 1: Wachstumsspirale auf der Calcit-(104)-Oberfläche beobachtet mit dem AFM im „contact mode“ in situ während des Kristallwachstums.

Für ein detailliertes Verständnis chemischer Reaktionen an Oberflächen sind hochauflösende mikroskopische Methoden erforderlich. Mit der Atomkraftmikroskopie (AFM) lassen sich quantitative Information über die Topographie von  Oberflächen und ihren Eigenschaften erhalten. Vorteilhaft bei dieser Methode ist, dass keine spezielle Probenvorbereitung nötig ist und Proben an Luft oder in Lösungen mit hoher Ortsauflösung untersucht werden können.

Änderungen auf Oberflächen, wie z.B. Wachstums- oder Auflösungsvorgänge von Mineralphasen, können direkt in Lösungen und in Echtzeit beobachtet werden. Der Einbau von Radionukliden in Mineralphasen wird anhand des sich ändernden Kristallwachstums untersucht.

Die Oberfläche einer Probe wird bei der AFM mit einer nanoskopisch feine Spitze, Spitzenradius 2 nm, abgetastet und so die Oberflächentopographie erfasst. Die Ortsauflösung in z-Richtung ist ca. 0.1 nm, in x,y Richtung durch den Spitzenradius gegeben.

Die Spitze ist an einem zu ihrer Dimension vergleichsweisen langen, elastischen Balken (ca. 0.1 mm) mit bekannter Federkonstanten befestigt. Die Position der Spitze wird mit einem an der Spitzenposition reflektierten Laserstrahl und einer segmentierten Photodiode erfasst. Der Balken mit Spitze ist an einem Piezoquarz befestigt, der über das Anlegen elektrischer Spannung kontrolliert bewegt wird.

Für die Abtastung der Oberfläche stehen im wesentlichen zwei Methoden zur Verfügung. Entweder befindet sich die Spitze während des Rastervorgangs im permanenten Kontakt mit der Oberfläche oder die Spitze wird senkrecht oszillierend über die Probenoberfläche bewegt. Bei Annäherung der oszillierenden Spitze an die Probenoberfläche tritt durch atomare Wechselwirkung eine Dämpfung und Phasenverschiebung der schwingenden Spitze in Bezug auf den erregenden Piezoquarz auf, was mit dem Laserstrahl erfasst wird. Vorteil der Messung mit oszillierender Spitze ist die vergleichsweise geringe Beeinflussung der Probenoberfläche insbesondere bei empfindlichen Proben.

 

Ansprechpartner:

Dieter Schild      Frank Heberling (AFM)     
   +49 721 608 22521 / 22379    +49 721 608 24782