Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Research areas

Themen
Safety research for nuclear waste disposal

Within the scope of safety research for nuclear waste disposal, methods based on geochemical assays are developed for scientifically sound proof of the long time safety of repository sites for radioactive waste. Work concentrates on the actinide elements and long lived fission products, which form the dominant long-term contribution to the radiotoxic potential of high level radioactive waste coming from nuclear energy use. These activities encompass a wide span of basic experimental and theoretical investigations concerning the geochemistry of the actinides in aquatic systems, covering development and adaptation of speciation methods to investigations of radionuclide transport/retention in a repository multi barrier system. All data and knowledge flow in the parameterization of existing geochemical models and onto the development of new model concepts.

 

 

 

 

Immobilization of high level radioactive waste

The procedure developed by KIT-INE for immobilization of highlevel radioactive waste via vitrification is based on a single-step process, in which the liquid waste is vitrified to a glass product without pretreatment in a ceramic melter furnace . Activities concentrate on supplying vitrification technology for the high level radioactive liquid waste of the “Wiederaufarbeitungsanlage Karlsruhe, WAK” (Reprocessing Plant Karlsruhe) and application of the technology for radioactive wastes of different compositions.

 

 

 

 

Reduction of the radiotoxicity of high level radioactive waste (Partitioning)

In order to reduce the radiotoxicity of highl level radioactive waste (Partitioning), methods for minor actinide separation by means of liquid-liquid extraction are developed. This includes synthesis of highly selective extractants, investigation of the extraction kinetics and application of hollow fiber modules (HFM) in the extraction process, as well as process design and optimization. In addition, basic science studies aimed at clarification of the coordination structure of actinide-ligand complexes are performed.

 

 

 

Research for radiation protection

Today's procedures and methods to quantify the actual exposure to radiation refer to a - statistically speaking - "average man". The result is an estimate of the actual exposure of the affected individual. The scientific work of the department of radiation protection research is focused at the exposed individual with his individual anatomical and physiological characteristics. These characteristics including age and gender and environment are placed at the centre of an individual quantification of exposure to radiation in order to base radiation protection recommendations and measures on it.

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Forschungsbereiche

Themen

 

Sicherheitsforschung zur Endlagerung

Im Rahmen der Sicherheitsforschung zur Endlagerung werden Methoden für einen wissenschaftlich fundierten Nachweis der Langzeitsicherheit von Endlagern für radioaktive Abfälle auf Basis geochemischer Ansätze entwickelt. Die Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die Actiniden und langlebigen Spaltprodukte, die über lange Zeiten den dominierenden Beitrag zum radiotoxischen Potenzial der hochradioaktiven Abfälle aus der Kernenergienutzung bilden. Sie umfassen eine breite Spanne von grundlegenden experimentellen und theoretischen Untersuchungen zur Geochemie der Actiniden in aquatischen Systemen über die Entwicklung und Anpassung von Speziationsmethoden bis hin zu anwendungsorientierten Untersuchungen der Radionuklidrückhaltung im Multibarrierensystem. Alle Daten und Erkenntnisse fließen in die Parametrisierung existierender geochemische Modelle und in die Entwicklung neuer Modellkonzepte ein.

Immobilisierung von hochradioaktiven Abfällen

Das vom INE entwickelte Verfahren zur Immobilisierung von hoch radioaktivem Abfall beruht auf einem einstufigen Prozess, bei dem der Flüssigabfall ohne Vorbehandlung unter Zugabe von Glasbildnern in einem keramischen Schmelzofen zu einem Glasprodukt geschmolzen wird. Die Arbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die Bereitstellung der Verglasungstechnologie für die hochradioaktiven Abfälle der Wiederaufarbeitungsanlage Karlsruhe (WAK) und auf die Anwendung der Technologie auf radioaktive Abfälle unterschiedlicher Zusammensetzung.

Reduzierung der Radiotoxizität hochradioaktiver Abfälle (Partitioning)

Zur Reduzierung der Langzeitradiotoxizität und -wärmeleistung hochradioaktiver Abfälle werden Methoden zur Abtrennung minorer Actiniden mittels Flüssig-flüssig-Extraktion entwickelt. Dazu werden insbesondere grundlegende Arbeiten zur Aufklärung der chemischen Struktur von Actinidenkomplexen sowie Synthesen neuer hochselektiver Extraktions- und Komplexierungsmittel durchgeführt.
Diese Untersuchungen laufen im Rahmen diverser EU-Projekte und eines vom BMBF geförderten Projekts.

Strahlenschutzforschung

Die  Strahlenschutzforschung beschäftigt sich mit der personenbezogenen Quantifizierung der externen und internen Strahlenexposition. Dabei wird das exponierte Individuum mit seinen individuellen anatomischen und physiologischen Besonderheiten wie Alter und Geschlecht sowie die Umwelt in den Mittelpunkt gestellt um mittelbare und unmittelbare Strahlenschutzempfehlungen und -maßnahmen zu entwickeln. Numerische Verfahren werden eingesetzt um mit geeigneten, an die individuellen Besonderheiten angepassten Modellen des menschlichen Körpers neue Wege zur Quantifizierung der Strahlenexposition in einzelnen Organen und Geweben zu gehen.