Home | deutsch  | Legals | KIT

Radiochemical analysis

Radioanalitik
Fig. 1: ionising radiation

At INE a wide experience in chemical and radiochemical analytical methods is available. The main tasks of the INE analytical group are:

-     Chemical and radiochemical analysis for INE R&D work
-     Chemical analysis for waste conditioning and dismantling of nuclear facilities
-     Chemical analysis for vitrification processes of high active waste
-     Analytical services
 

A main task of the analytical group is routine analysis for INE R&D work including development and optimization of speciation methods. Members of the analytical group supervise practical student courses and the education of chemical laboratory technicians.

At INE samples from waste conditioning facilities (e.g., digested ash samples, evaporator concentrates from WAK-HDB) or from dismantling of nuclear facilities are analyzed. Important nuclides are 55Fe, 63Ni, 90Sr as well as U and Pu isotopes (including quantitative analysis and determination of isotope ratios).

INE also performs analysis for vitrification processes of high active wastes (see immobilization of highly active waste). Multi-elemental and isotope analysis of high active waste concentrate (HAWC) and samples from the wet off-gas treatment are accomplished for the Vitrification Plant Karlsruhe (VEK). Furthermore, quality control measurements of the glass frit and the final glass product are provided.

Analytical services for companies are provided in several fields: radio pharmaceutical products containing alpha emitting nuclides (needed in tumor therapy) are analyzed as well as resins for radiochemical separations. Both examples serve for the product quality control.

 
Nuclear chemical methods:
 

-     radiochemical separations

-     α-spectrometry

-     liquid scintillation spectrometry (standard and low-level)

-     γ-spectrometry
 

For the analysis of radioactive samples see also elemental analysis and other methods.


 

Contact person: Markus Plaschke

 

Co-workers

 

Publications


Elemental Analysis

Sec4_2_fig1
Fig. 1: Box-adapted Thermo Element XR sector field ICP-MS
Boxenadaptierte Thermo Element XR Sektorfeld ICP-MS
Fig. 2: Box-adapted Thermo Element XR sector field ICP-MS

At INE a wide experience in chemical and radiochemical analytical methods is available. For the main tasks of the INE analytical group see radiochemical analysis.

New ways in element and isotope analysis for actinide speciation by high resolution sector field mass spectrometry adapted at a glove box

Element and isotope analysis by high resolution sector field mass spectroscopy (SF-ICP-MS, type Element XR) is now available at INE. Improved detection limits (down to the sub-ppq range) and high mass resolution allow for extremely precise determination of actinides or long-lived fission products at very low concentrations. This analytical tool is applied for the analysis of natural samples (e.g., groundwater or surface water) and ambitious lab experiments. By coupling of methods multi-dimensional analytical systems are developed. Coupling with laser ablation (LA-SF-ICP-MS) delivers information about the spatial distribution of actinides and fission products in solids (e.g., interaction of actinides with mineral phases acting as natural or geotechnical barriers). Advanced speciation methods are developed by coupling separation techniques with mass spectroscopy. As an example capillary electrophoresis coupled to sector field mass spectroscopy (CE-SF-ICP-MS) is developed to study actinide speciation at very low concentrations (10-11 bis 10-12 Mol/l).

 
Methods:

-     ICP-MS quadrupole (inactive and adapted at a glove box)

-     ICP-MS sector field (adapted at a glove box)                          

-     ICP-OES (inactive and adapted at a glove box)

-     Flame-AES/AAS (only non-radioactive samples)

-     WDXRF (only weak radioactive samples)                   
 

For the analysis of radioactive samples see also radiochemical analysis and other methods.

 

 

Contact persons:  Markus Plaschke

 

Co-workers

 

Publications


Other methods

At INE a wide experience in chemical and radiochemical analytical methods is available. For the main tasks of the INE analytical group see radiochemical analysis.

 

Other methods:

-     ion chromatography (cations and anions, radioactive and inactive samples)

-     gas chromatography (only inactive samples)

-     organic and inorganic carbon (TOC, DOC, NPOC)

-     surface determination after BET (inactive)

-     column separations

-     digestions (conventional or microwave)

-     volumetric analysis

-     gravimetric analysis

 

For the analysis of radioactive samples see also radiochemical analysis and elemental analysis.

 

 

Contact person: Markus Plaschke

 

Co-workers

 

Publications


x-ray diffraction

Diffractometer D8
Diffraktometer D8 Brucker

X-ray diffraction (XRD) is a non-destructive analytical technique used to identify and characterize solid samples. Information on the crystallographic structure can be obtained without complex sample preparation and with low amount of sample. For any given crystalline material, both the position and the intensity of the lines on the diffractogram are indicative of a particular phase (“fingerprint”). Quantitative information on a sample can be obtained by applying a full pattern analysis technique, such as the Rietveld method for example.

Powder X-ray diffractograms are collected in reflection mode using a D8 ADVANCE (Bruker) diffractometer located in the controlled area of INE. X-rays are produced from a Cu anode and the intensity of the scattered radiation is detected with an energy dispersive detector (SOL-X). The sample stage concept allows analyses of powders, oriented or textured samples (such as sheet silicates), air-sensitive and/or active samples (closed and airtight sample holder)...

Information provided by XRD is of key importance in various areas of the research activities at INE. Besides determining the mineralogical composition of natural samples, XRD is used to characterize samples after corrosion experiments (nuclear waste glass, cement waste form…), the purity of synthetic samples from (co)precipitation experiments (retention of radionuclides in solid phases, identification of precipitates) …

 

 

Contact person: Nicolas Finck

 

Co-workers

 

Publications


Surface analysis by x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS)

XPS
Fig. 1: X-ray photoelectron spectrometer (XPS) at INE (ULVAC-PHI, model VersaProbe II)

The surface sensitivity of XPS applied to radioactive materials gives insight into chemical composition of surfaces and interfaces relevant for the safety case study of a nuclear waste repository. Examples are the interaction of dissolved radionuclides with surfaces of corrosion products, colloids of the groundwater, and mineral phases by sorption or incorporation.

Chemical interaction of a solid material with its environment takes place at its surface, which mostly results in the formation of an interface phase or a layer with a chemical composition differing from that of the bulk. The thickness of such layers may range from monolayers to some nanometers. Knowledge of surface layer properties is essential for understanding of chemical processes occurring at the surface. To identify elements, their valence, and chemical bonding states in the outermost atomic layers of a sample, surface-sensitive x-ray photoelectron spectroscopy (XPS) is applied.

During XPS, the surface of a sample is irradiated by soft x-rays and the photoelectrons leaving the sample are analyzed. The energy of the emitted photoelectrons is essentially given by the difference between x-ray energy and the binding energy of the electrons at their initial atomic energy levels, thus characteristic for each element. By use of the measured photoelectron energies and intensities, the elements and their abundances are identified.

Chemical bonds cause a small shift of the energy of atomic electron levels, measured by high energy resolution XPS as "chemical shift" of the photoelectron energy. Comparison with data from well-known compounds allows drawing conclusion about chemical bonding states at the sample surface. 

 

 

Contact person: Dieter Schild

 

Co-workers

 

Publications


Scanning electron microscopy (SEM)

Section_4_6_fig1.jpg
Fig. 1: FEI QUANTA 650 FEG environmental scanning electron microscope (ESEM) with field emission electron gun allowing a 1 nm resolution at 30 kV (SE)

Electron microscopy applied to radioactive materials gives insight into microscopic/ nanoscopic structures relevant for safety assessment of a nuclear repository.

SEM analyses are performed at INE using a FEI QUANTA 650 FEG environmental scanning electron microscope located in the radioactive control area (Fig. 1). In SEM, a fine electron probe is focussed on the surface of a sample and scanned in a two-dimensional raster. At each point, various emitted signals can be detected and contribute to a corresponding point in an image. So-called secondary electrons (SE) enable the observation of surface topography with a lateral resolution down to few nanometers, whereas images produced by means of elastically backscattered electrons (BSE) present an elemental contrast. Furthermore, the detection of characteristic x-rays allows quantitative determination of atomic concentrations at a micrometer scale (energy-dispersive x-ray spectroscopy, EDX).

 

 

 

Contact persons:Dieter Schild (SEM)

 

Co-workers

 

Publications


Surface analysis by atomic force microscopy (AFM)

Calcit growth AFM
Fig. 1: Growth hillock at the calcite (104) surface observed by contact AFM in situ during crystal growth.

A prerequisite of a detailed understanding of chemical reactions at surfaces are high-resolution microscopic techniques. The atomic force microscope (AFM) gives quantitative insight into surface properties and topography. Advantages of this technique are that no special sample preparation is necessary and measurements with high lateral resolution can be performed at ambient pressure and in solutions.

Surface processes like e.g. crystal growth or dissolution of minerals, can be observed directly in solution in realtime. The incorporation of radionuclides into minerals can be observed and analysed by changes of the crystal growth.

During atomic force microscopy, the surface of the sample is scanned by a nanoscopic sized tip with radius of 2 nm. Spatial resolution in z-direction is about 0.1 nm, and in x,y directions given by the tip radius.

The tip is bonded to a relatively long and elastic bar (ca. 0.1 mm ) with well-known spring constant. The position of the tip is measured by a reflecting laser beam and a segmented photodiode. The bar with the tip is attached to a piezoelectric quartz and moved by electric potentials.

Sensing of the sample surface is performed by essentially two techniques. Either the tip is scanned in permanent contact with the sample surface or the tip oscillates perpendicular to the surface while scanning. If the tip approaches to the surface, attenuation and phase shift of the tip in relation to the exciting piezoelectric quartz occurs, which is detected by the laser and the segmented photodiode. Advantage of the latter technique is that it has less impact onto the sample surface, which is favourable especially in the case of sensitive samples.

 

 

Contact person: Dieter Schild / Frank Heberling

 

Co-workers

 

Publications

Home | english  | Impressum | KIT

Radioanalytik

Analytik
Abb. 1: Ionisierende Strahlung

Im INE steht eine umfangreiche Methodik zur chemischen und radiochemischen Analytik zur Verfügung. Die Aufgaben der INE-Analytik decken folgende Bereiche ab:

-     Interne Analytik für Forschungsvorhaben des INE

-     Analytik für die Abfallkonditionierung und den Rückbau

-     Analytik für Verglasungsprozesse von hochaktiven Abfällen

-     Analytik für Auftraggeber aus der Industrie
 

Bei den internen analytischen Aufgabenstellungen handelt es sich im Wesentlichen um Routineanalysen für die im INE bearbeiteten F+E-Vorhaben und die Weiterentwicklung von Speziationsmethoden. Weiterhin werden von der Analytik-Gruppe Praktika und Kurse sowie die betriebliche Ausbildung zum Chemielaboranten betreut.

Das INE wird zudem zur Analyse von Proben aus der Abfallkonditionierung (z.B. Ascheproben, Verdampferkonzentrat von WAK-HDB) und dem Rückbau beauftragt. Dabei werden beispielweise die Nuklide 55Fe, 63Ni, 90Sr, sowie U und Pu Isotope quantitativ bestimmt und Isotopenverhältnisse erstellt.

Das INE führt Analytik zur Verglasung von hochradioaktivem Abfall durch (siehe Immobilisierung von hochradioaktiven Abfällen). Für die Verglasungseinrichtung Karlsruhe (VEK) werden Multielement- und isotopenanalysen von hochaktiven Proben (high active waste concentrate (HAWC) und nasse Abgasreinigungsstrecke) bearbeitet. Zudem werden Analysen zur Qualitätskontrolle der Glasfritte und des Glasprodukts durchgeführt.

Das INE führt Serviceanalysen für Auftraggeber aus der Industrie durch. So werden beispielweise Alphastrahler analysiert, die als Radiopharmaka in der Krebstherapie eingesetzt werden. Weiterhin werden Qualitätskontrollanalysen von Trennsäulen für die Radioanalytik durchgeführt.

 
Kernchemische Methoden:
 
-     radiochemische Trennungen
-     α-Spektrometrie
-     Flüssigszintillation (Standard und Low-Level)
-     γ-Spektrometrie
 

Zur Analyse von radioaktiven Proben stehen auch die Elementanalytik und sonstige Methoden zur Verfügung.

 

 

Ansprechpartner: Markus Plaschke

 

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

 

Publikationen


Elementanalytik

Sec4_2_fig1
Abb. 1: Boxenadaptierte Thermo Element XR Sektorfeld ICP-MS
Boxenadaptierte Thermo Element XR Sektorfeld ICP-MS
Abb. 2: Boxenadaptierte Thermo Element XR Sektorfeld ICP-MS

Im INE steht eine umfangreiche Methodik zur chemischen und radiochemischen Analytik zur Verfügung. Die Aufgabenbereiche der INE-Analytik finden Sie unter Radioanalytik.

Neue Möglichkeiten der Element-, Isotopen- und Speziationsanalytik mittels boxenadaptierter hochauflösender Sektorfeld-Massenspektrometrie

Die Element- und Isotopenanalytik wurde durch die doppelfokussierende hochauflösende Sektorfeld-Massenspektrometrie (SF-ICP-MS) der neuesten Generation (Element XR) erweitert. Durch deutlich verbesserte Nachweisgrenzen (bis in den sub-ppq Bereich) und die Möglichkeit zur hohen Massenauflösung ist es nun möglich, sehr genaue Daten über das Verhalten von Aktiniden und langlebigen Spaltprodukten bei sehr niedrigen Konzentrationen zu gewinnen. Dabei steht neben der Analytik natürlicher Probensysteme (z.B. Grund- und Oberflächenwässer) auch die Untersuchung experimenteller Chargen im Fokus. Durch die Einführung von gekoppelten Methoden entstehen mehrdimensionale Trennsysteme. Die Kopplung mit der Laserablation (LA-SF-ICP-MS) liefert Informationen über die räumliche Verteilung von Aktiniden und Spaltprodukten in Festkörpern (z.B. Wechselwirkung von Aktiniden mit Mineralphasen, die als natürliche oder geotechnische Barrieren dienen). Durch die Kopplung von Trennmethoden mit der Massenspektroskopie werden sehr anspruchsvolle Speziationsuntersuchungen möglich. Mit Hilfe der Kapillarelektrophorese gekoppelt an das Sektorfeld-Massenspektrometer (CE-SF-ICP-MS) kann die Speziation von Aktiniden in sehr niedrigen Konzentrationsbereichen (10-11 bis 10-12 Mol/l) untersucht werden.

Elementanalytische Methoden:

-     ICP-MS Quadrupol (inaktiv und an Handschuhbox adaptiert)

-     ICP-MS Sektorfeld (an Handschuhbox adaptiert)                                           

-     ICP-OES (inaktiv und an Handschuhbox adaptiert)                                        

-     Flammen-AES/AAS (nur inaktiv)                                               

-     WDRFA (für schwach aktive Proben)               

Zur Analyse von radioaktiven Proben stehen auch die Radioanalytik und sonstige Methoden zur Verfügung.

 

 

Ansprechpartner:  Markus Plaschke

 

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

 

Publikationen


Sonstige Methoden

Im INE steht eine umfangreiche Methodik der chemischen und radiochemischen Analytik zur Verfügung. Die Aufgabenbereiche der INE-Analytik finden Sie unter Radioanalytik.

 

Sonstige Methoden:

-     Ionenchromatographie (Kationen und Anionen, aktiv und inaktiv)

-     Gaschromatographie (inaktiv)

-     Kohlenstoffbestimmung (TOC, DOC, NPOC)

-     Oberflächenbestimmung nach BET (inaktiv)

-     Säulentrennungen

-     konventionelle Aufschlüsse

-     Mikrowellenaufschlüsse (aktiv und inaktiv)

-     Volumetrie

-     Gravimetrie

 

Zur Analyse von radioaktiven Proben stehen auch die Radioanalytik und Elementanalytik zur Verfügung.

 

 

Ansprechpartner: Markus Plaschke

 

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

 

Publikationen

 


Röntgenbeugung

Diffractometer D8
Diffraktometer D8 Brucker

Röntgenbeugung oder Röntgendiffraktometrie (RD) ist eine nicht destruktive analytische Methode um Festkörper zu identifizieren und charakterisieren. Mit einer relativen einfachen Probenvorbereitung und nur wenig Material sind Informationen über die Kristallstruktur schnell zu erhalten. Die Lage und Intensität der Reflexe in einem Diffraktogram sind spezifisch für bestimmte Festphasen („Fingerabdruck“). Quantitative Aussagen über die Zusammensetzung einer Probe erhält man mittels Rietveld Analyse.

Pulverdiffraktogramme werden mit einem D8 ADVANCE (Bruker) Diffraktometer im Kontrollbereich des INE aufgenommen. Wir verwenden für unsere Messungen einen energiedispersivem Detektor (SOL-X). Es besteht die Möglichkeit Pulver, Texturpreparate (z. B. Schichtsilikate), Luft-empfindliche und/oder aktive Proben zu messen.

Die RD wird von verschiedenen Arbeitsgruppen am INE genutzt. Neben der mineralogischen Zusammensetzung von natürlichen Proben werden auch Mineralphasen nach Korrosionsversuchen (z. B. Gläser und Zemente) analysiert. Die Reinheit synthetischer Proben nach Fällungsexperimenten (Rückhaltung von Radionukliden in Mineralphasen, Identifizierung von gebildeten Niederschlägen) kann untersucht werden.

 

 

Ansprechpartner: Nicolas Finck

 

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

 

Publikationen


Oberflächenanalytik mit Photoelektronenspektroskopie (XPS)

XPS
Abb. 1: Röntgen-Photoelektronen Spektrometer (XPS) am INE (ULVAC-PHI, Modell VersaProbe II)

Die oberflächenempfindliche XPS angewandt auf radioaktive Materialien ermöglicht Einblicke in die chemische Zusammensetzung von Oberflächen und Grenzflächen die für die Endlagersicherheitsforschung von Bedeutung sind. Beispiele sind die Wechselwirkung gelöster Radionuklide mit Oberflächen von Korrosionsprodukten, Grundwasserkolloide und Mineralphasen durch Sorption oder Einbau.

Chemische Reaktionen eines Festkörpers mit seiner Umgebung finden an seiner Oberfläche statt, die sich deshalb in ihrer chemischen Zusammensetzung von derjenigen im Festkörperinneren unterscheidet. Die Dicke dieser Oberflächenschicht bewegt sich im Bereich atomarer Abstände bis zu einigen Nanometern. Die Kenntnis der Eigenschaften der Oberflächenschicht ist für das Verständnis der dort ablaufenden chemischen Prozesse wesentlich. Hier liefert die Röntgen-Photoelektronenspektroskopie (XPS) als oberflächenempfindliche Methode wichtige Beiträge über elementare Zusammensetzung, Valenz und chemische Bindungszustände.

Bei der XPS wird die Festkörperoberfläche einer Probe mit weichem Röntgenlicht bestrahlt und Photoelektronen erzeugt. Die Energie der Photoelektronen wird gemessen und entspricht im Wesentlichen der Differenz zwischen Röntgenenergie und Bindungsenergie der Elektronen in den atomaren Elektronenniveaus aus denen sie stammen, charakteristisch für jedes Element. Anhand der gemessenen Energien und Intensitäten der Photoelektronen lassen sich die Elemente und ihre relative Häufigkeiten bestimmen.

Chemische Bindungen bewirken eine kleine Änderung der Energie der Elektronenniveaus, die als "chemische Verschiebung" der Photoelektronenenergie mit hochaufgelöster XPS gemessen werden kann. Aus dem Vergleich mit bekannten chemischen Verbindungen können Rückschlüsse auf die chemischen Bindungszustände auf der Probenoberfläche gezogen werden.

 

 

Ansprechpartner: Dieter Schild

 

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

 

Publikationen


Raster-Elektronenmikroskopie (REM)

Section_4_6_fig1.jpg
Abb. 1: FEI QUANTA 650 FEG Umwelt-Rasterelektronenmikroskop mit Feldemissionsquelle. Ortsauflösung bis zu 1 nm bei 30 kV Elektronenstrahlenergie (SE)

Für die Sicherheitsanalyse eines nuklearen Endlagers ist das Verständnis des Verhaltens radioaktiver Materialien auf der Mikro- und Nanometerskala erforderlich. Hier kann die Elektronenmikroskopie wichtige Beiträge liefern.

REM Untersuchungen werden am INE im radioaktiven Kontrollbereich mit einem FEI QUANTA 650 FEG Umwelt-Rasterelektronenmikroskop durchgeführt (Abb. 1). Mit einem fokussierten Elektronenstrahl wird die Probenoberfläche abgerastert. An jedem Punkt entstehen unterschiedliche Signale die detektiert jeweils zu einem Bild mit entsprechendem Informationsgehalt beitragen. Die Sekundärelektronen (SE) ermöglichen die Darstellung der Oberflächentopographie mit einer lateralen Auflösung von einigen Nanometern, während die Rückstreuelektronen (RE) ein elementares Kontrastbild liefern. Detektion der entstehenden charakteristischen Röntgenstrahlung ermöglicht die quantitative Bestimmung von Atomkonzentrationen von Proben im Mikrometermaßstab (energiedispersive Röntgenspektroskopie, EDX).

 

 

 

Ansprechpartner: Dieter Schild (REM)

 

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

 

Publikationen


Oberflächenanalytik mit Raster-Kraftmikroskopie (Atomic Force Microscopy - AFM)

Calcit growth AFM
Abb. 1: Wachstumsspirale auf der Calcit-(104)-Oberfläche beobachtet mit dem AFM im „contact mode“ in situ während des Kristallwachstums.

Für ein detailliertes Verständnis chemischer Reaktionen an Oberflächen sind hochauflösende mikroskopische Methoden erforderlich. Mit der Atomkraftmikroskopie (AFM) lassen sich quantitative Information über die Topographie von  Oberflächen und ihren Eigenschaften erhalten. Vorteilhaft bei dieser Methode ist, dass keine spezielle Probenvorbereitung nötig ist und Proben an Luft oder in Lösungen mit hoher Ortsauflösung untersucht werden können.

Änderungen auf Oberflächen, wie z.B. Wachstums- oder Auflösungsvorgänge von Mineralphasen, können direkt in Lösungen und in Echtzeit beobachtet werden. Der Einbau von Radionukliden in Mineralphasen wird anhand des sich ändernden Kristallwachstums untersucht.

Die Oberfläche einer Probe wird bei der AFM mit einer nanoskopisch feine Spitze, Spitzenradius 2 nm, abgetastet und so die Oberflächentopographie erfasst. Die Ortsauflösung in z-Richtung ist ca. 0.1 nm, in x,y Richtung durch den Spitzenradius gegeben.

Die Spitze ist an einem zu ihrer Dimension vergleichsweisen langen, elastischen Balken (ca. 0.1 mm) mit bekannter Federkonstanten befestigt. Die Position der Spitze wird mit einem an der Spitzenposition reflektierten Laserstrahl und einer segmentierten Photodiode erfasst. Der Balken mit Spitze ist an einem Piezoquarz befestigt, der über das Anlegen elektrischer Spannung kontrolliert bewegt wird.

Für die Abtastung der Oberfläche stehen im wesentlichen zwei Methoden zur Verfügung. Entweder befindet sich die Spitze während des Rastervorgangs im permanenten Kontakt mit der Oberfläche oder die Spitze wird senkrecht oszillierend über die Probenoberfläche bewegt. Bei Annäherung der oszillierenden Spitze an die Probenoberfläche tritt durch atomare Wechselwirkung eine Dämpfung und Phasenverschiebung der schwingenden Spitze in Bezug auf den erregenden Piezoquarz auf, was mit dem Laserstrahl erfasst wird. Vorteil der Messung mit oszillierender Spitze ist die vergleichsweise geringe Beeinflussung der Probenoberfläche insbesondere bei empfindlichen Proben.

 

 

Ansprechpartner: Dieter Schild / Frank Heberling

 

 

Beteiligte Mitarbeiter

 

Publikationen